Hong Kong Holidays, Festivals and Events 2017

hong kong holidays

Do you want to start the new year fresh? Take a look at Hong Kong Events Calendar 2017 below and make some great plans. Here you can find Hong Kong Holidays 2017, Hong Kong Festivals 2017 and Hong Kong Events 2017. Lunar dates of Chinese Festivals can also be found. Have a wonderful year of the Rooster!

Hong Kong Holidays 2017 and Hong Kong Festivals 2017

Festival Date Public
Holiday
Lunar Date
New Year’s Day 01-Jan, Sun Y
The first weekday after New Year’s Day 02-Jan, Mon Y
Chinese New Year‘s Day 28-Jan, Sat Y First Moon, Day 1
The second day of Lunar New Year 29-Jan, Sun Y First Moon, Day 2
Che Kung’s Birthday
The third day of Lunar New Year 30-Jan, Mon Y First Moon, Day 3
The fourth day of Lunar New Year 31-Jan, Tue Y First Moon, Day 4
Spring Lantern Festival / Yuen Siu 11-Feb, Sat N First Moon, Day 15
Hung Shing Festival 10-Mar, Fri N Second Moon, Day 13
Ching Ming Festival 04-Apr, Mon Y Third Moon
Good Friday 14-Apr, Fri Y
The day following Good Friday 15-Apr, Sat Y
Easter Monday 17-Apr-Mon Y
Birthday of Tin Hau 19-Apr, Wed N Third Moon, Day 23
Cheung Chau Bun Festival 30-Apr, Sun to
04-May, Thur
30-Apr,
01-May,
03-May
Fourth Moon,
Day 5–9
Labour Day 01-May, Mon Y
Birthday of Buddha 03-May, Wed Y Fourth Moon, Day 8
Birthday of Tam Kung
Dragon Boat Festival/ Tuen Ng 30-May, Tue Y Fifth Moon, Day 5
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Establishment Day 01-Jul, Sat Y
Birthday of Kwan Tai/ Martial God 17-Jul, Mon N Sixth Moon, Day 24
Seven Sisters Festival / Tsat-je 27-Aug, Sun N Seventh Moon, Day 7
The Hungry Ghost Festival / Yue Lan 04-Sep, Mon N Seventh Moon,
Day 14-15
 National Day 01-Oct, Sun Y
 The day following National Day 02-Oct, Mon Y
Mid-Autumn Festival / Moon Festival 04-Oct, Wed N Eighth Moon, Day 15
 The day following Mid-Autumn Festival 05-Oct, Thur Y Eighth Moon, Day 16
Monkey King Festival
Birthday of Confucius/Teacher’s Day 16-Oct, Mon N Eighth Moon, Day 27
Chung Yeung Festival 28-Oct, Sat Y Ninth Moon, Day 9
Winter Solstice 22-Dec, Fri N
Christmas Day 25-Dec, Mon Y
Boxing Day 26-Dec, Tue Y

Hong Kong Events 2017

Hong Kong Arts and Entertainment Events

Hong Kong Sports and Recreation Events

Hong Kong Exhibitions and Consumer Fairs

  • Hong Kong Book Fair – July 19 – 25, 2017
  • Ani-Com and Games HK – July 28 – 1 August, 2017
  • Hong Kong Food Expo – August 17 – 21, 2017
  • Hong Kong Computer & Communications Festival – August 25-28, 2017
  • Hong Kong International Boat Show – December TBA 2017
  • Hong Kong Brands & Products Expo – December TBA 2017
  • Hong Kong Mega ShowCase – December TBA 2017

Which Hong Kong holidays do you like most? Please feel free to leave us comments or contact us if you have any questions.

Thank you for reading this post. Please like us on Facebook and share our post with your family and friends who are already in or heading to Hong Kong!

To get free newsletter and updates from Hong Kong Travel Guide in your inbox, simply sign up at the top of the right-handed sidebar.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *